Busy, busy, busy

If you’ve noticed that I haven’t blogged lately, it’s because life hasn’t afforded me the time lately.

At work, we’ve got overcrowded classes, since the economy forced our school system to reduce the workforce by quite a few heads. Some days we have more kids than we have seats, and every class has at least two or three unruly kids making life hard for everyone else. Their parents aren’t much help, of course, because the students causing us the most difficulty don’t even have reliable people at home to contact. The law won’t allow us to remove the problem students from the class, so we’re stuck with things as they are. Most of my energy at work these days goes towards managing behavior and noise (which is a losing battle at the moment).

At home, I’m discovering just how much it takes to raise four human beings (don’t know how people manage to raise more than that!). First the 23 month old falls off a piano bench and breaks her arm. That requires regular trips across Atlanta for casts, slings, etc. Then the 10 year old needs regular trips across town (or across state lines!) for orthodontic procedures (which thankfully are done by people giving us financial breaks left and right). Then the 8 year old gets a toothache and needs a tooth pulled. I could go on, of course, but it would bore most anyone with a pulse. Besides, anyone raising children of their own can top anything I’ve got to report.

The bottom line for me is that I don’t have time to blog deep things these days. I still owe anyone who reads this a final summary of what I gleaned from my trip to Ohio. It’s on the way, still. Be patient with me, please.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

