All Your Base Are Belong to Us

Alright.  Enough downers for now.  How about something to make you smile?

From time to time I like to check a website called Engrish.com for a good laugh.  This site is devoted to snapshots from Asian signposts, labels, warnings, etc which mistranslate the English in funny ways.   Some of the funniest would probably offend some of my readers (whoever they are), so I won’t post them.  But here are a few samples of some that crack me up.

engrish02b

That’s all you have to do.  Isn’t that comforting?

 


 

 

engrish01a

People in Japan seem so polite.  I should visit there some day.

 


 

 

engrish02

Well, somebody has to connoct our poopie.

 


 

 

engrish02a

Not gonna do it.  Wouldn’t be prudent.

 


 

 

engrish03

Well, I suppose that’s a logical name…

 


 

 

engrish04

For people with really stubborn nails…

 


 

 

engrish05

It’s clean and blue!

 


 

 

engrish06

That’s why you gotta keep off the grass!

 


 

 

engrish07

I don’t know which to start with… the chicken-brown fungus or the fungus of old people’s head?

 


 

 

engrish08

I like number 9.  I think some of my students have “stupid disease.”

6 Responses to “All Your Base Are Belong to Us”

  1. Cat Says:

    Hahahahahahahaha

  2. cindyinsd Says:

    Haha! I had almost as much fun reading the instructions for using my first digital camera–I like the ones that are all pictures. They may be too small to see, but they make more sense. ;)

  3. brotherjohnny Says:

    Love it. Much easier (and funner) than epistemological ecclesiology.
    (Even though that is kind of fun to say…) :-)

  4. zoecarnate Says:

    I wonder what the naughty palace is?

  5. Clem Boyd Says:

    Hey Neil, its Clem from the Dayton Xenos group. Missed you this summer but saw your posts about your visit. This is simply hilarious from engrish.com. I really haven’t laughed that much in awhile. I just posted my ruminations on Facebook at my site, http://www.clemboyd.com. I’d be interested to get your feedback. Look forward to poking around your site a bit, if you don’t mind :)

    • christinyall Says:

      Thanks, Clem. I’ll be sure to check your site. And thanks for the book (did you know I swiped a copy of yours?) I’ll be reading it and posting it someday soon here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

