Hide It Under a Bushel? NO!

diggingI’ve discovered that I have an addiction. I am addicted to self-criticism. As is often the case with addictions, it was not obvious to me, the addict. It became apparent first to someone close to me, and it didn’t demand my full attention until I discovered it was hurting someone else.

Some people think more highly of themselves than they should. I’ve never understood those people. I suffer from the opposite problem. I look at things God has put in me and I downplay them like they are of no value at all. My insightful wife explained to me yesterday how that dishonors God and ultimately robs others of the benefits that could have been theirs if not for this compulsive commitment to self-deprecation.

If you have ever tried to compliment me (or the book I wrote), you probably have no idea how quickly I dismantled your praise in my own mind moments later. Without your knowing it, I found multiple reasons to discount what you said, almost as fast as you could put it into words yourself. That’s sick, isn’t it? I’ve been doing this for a long time, but somehow I had never seen a legitimate reason to curb this compulsion because it seemed to serve a useful purpose for me. I figured it can’t be a bad thing for someone to keep their ego in check. And how embarrassing it is for someone to have his bubble burst after thinking he was “all that” only to discover he’s not! I’ll explain in the next post how this came to be, in case it could be helpful to someone else. But here’s what my wife helped me realize yesterday:

It does a kind of violence to God’s creation when you excessively disparage the good things about who you are and what you do. It dishonors him because it implies that he has done a bad job in making you who you are. I suppose that’s a failure to follow the first of the two greatest commandments: Love the Lord your God. Then again, it fails on the second one, too: Love your neighbor as yourself. When someone gives you something, it is rude and uncaring to immediately throw it away like it isn’t worth anything. I suppose a compliment is no different.

And maybe it goes deeper than that. When you repeatedly discount some skill a person has (including you yourself), he or she learns to bury it like the money that guy buried in the parable of the “talents.” That gifting could have brought life to people, but instead you stuck it in the ground. I think I’m in danger of doing the same thing myself.

To some degree, my circumstances have led me to this point. But I don’t imagine I’m free from responsibility here. There’s a strange self-gratification in being down on yourself. It ultimately keeps your attention on yourself, when you could be asking how you could be spending yourself and your gifts to benefit others. You prefer the safety of burial. If your gifts were to see the light of day, then you would risk the exposure of your all-too-sensitive ego. Someone could find a flaw in you that you missed yourself (how awful!). Or maybe you could become susceptible to pride, which, let’s face it, would totally ruin your perfect state of humility, wouldn’t it? I suppose even humility carries with it a kind of pride in being so humble. “At least I’m not like all those other cats who think they’re something.” Whoops.

Well anyway…For the next little while it looks as if I will need to take on a new discipline. I will be attempting to check my own tendency to dismantle the praise of others. I am going to try to see me the way other people are seeing me, even if that means admitting to myself that I did something right. How else will the good things ever be reinforced? If I denied my students all positive reinforcement, then how could I ever expect them to keep doing it right? I’ll have to learn to think the same way about myself. I’m no super human after all.

Perhaps God will be honored more by that, after all. So I’ll give it a shot.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Hide It Under a Bushel? NO!”

  1. Johnny Says:

    I often exhibit the same quirk. For me, I believe it’s related to a few different things, but the biggest one is poor theology (one that the Lord is still purging from my system).

    It’s a good thing and a true sign of humility when we are able to recognize God given talents/gifts in one another. This, in turn, leads to health in a church as it frees us up to be who we truly are, allowing us to minister to one another in the way that the Lord has designed.

    Thanks for posting.
    And thanks to April for speaking the Truth!

  2. Sarah Says:

    good post, bro.
    wise wife.

  3. jennysgoodlife Says:

    Hey Neil, I’m following your blog with Reader now. This is a great post. (And don’t discount that compliment!!! lol jk) Anyway I too struggle with this. Praise is such a thin line to walk because it’s easy to do the wrong thing with it, on either side. I think you are spot on with what you said. And thank God for an encouraging wife!

  4. My Place in this World « Says:

    [...] « Hide It Under a Bushel? NO! [...]

  5. Richard Says:

    If criticism or praise is the defining factor of our identity, then as Tina Turner asked, “What’s love got to do with it?”
    Meaning, apart from a growing experiential unfolding revelation of Father’s total unconditional love for me, I will (because there are NO vacuums) carve out an identity to try and compensate for that relentless craving from deep within me.

    I am slowly learning that it is only out of receiving of his constant unconditional love that I am freed to be the best Richard possible. Christ fully expressing himself through me AS me, how much more fulfilling could that ever be?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

